Broken Oven: Stovetop Dinner Ideas

After growing up with an electric stove, I realized the wonders of gas stove tops and quickly converted. My new apartment has a gas stove, which is convenient–but what is more inconvenient is that the oven has recently quit working. I don’t know the landlord, either, so I can’t request a repair or replacement, either. I’m stuck to the confines of cooking ONLY stove top now, which is making things interesting.

No lasagna. No chicken roasts. No pulled pork. No steaks. No baked macaroni and cheese. No roasted garlic.  No frittata. No amazing cinnamon buns. No pie.
No cookie, cake, cobbler or crisp.

Well I’m now taking this as a challenge against my ability to cook and prepare innovative meals, and here are a few a great stove top meals with ingredients from the farmers market:

  1. Vegetarian Curry with Rice
    Curry paste & mixed vegetables from Fillmore Farmers Market, Scrounged rice.
  2. Veggie Tacos with Cilantro Lime Rice, Black Beans and Homemade Salsa Verde
    Tomatillos, Avocados and other vegetables from Farmers Market.
  3. Sausage and Kale over Fusilli (Alice Water’s recipe)
    Wanted to make a nice dinner, so I flipped through The Art of Simple Cooking and found this recipe. I had all the ingredients, it was meant to be.
  4. Ratatouille
    Given 2 eggplants at the end of the Farmers Market, so we knew it was time for Bobby to make us Ratatouille. This time he used Alice Waters’ recipe.
  5. Watermelon Salad
    After working the Local Bites event at the California Academy of Sciences, I went home with a bunch of displays and produce, including two heirloom watermelons. I gave one to Paul, who was headed to a Salmon BBQ, and brought one home to make a caprese-like salad, inspired by the watermelon skewers I tried from Taste Catering’s stand.
  6. Fried Chicken with Mashed Potatoes and Sauteed Collards
    I felt like when I mentioned I was making this for dinner everyone could tell I was from the South (Yes, Maryland was below the Mason-Dixon, my friends). Bobby loves Collards, so I figured we could partner up on this dinner. Oh my god. BEST chicken I’ve ever had.

I hope this helps you if you’re without a broken oven, or if you’re considering a faster meal than 25 minutes at 350F. Recipes available upon request.

Happy (Stovetop) Cooking,
Brittany

About Brittany

I am an Environmental Studies graduate from the University of San Francisco. That's where the inspirational fire sparked--through the Garden Project, Back to da Roots, and How-to-Homestead. From there my knowledge of the food system, the environment, and San Francisco has grown immensely, and I have found myself healthier and happier than ever! I continue to blend the world of urban, natural, and technological. Urban homesteader, gardener, experimental home chef, environmentalist, foodie, and explorer. I look for the good stuff in San Francisco and can guide you along your own personal exploration, as well!
This entry was posted in Food, Food & Recipes, Homemade, Local, Stove Top and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

