Steamed Artichokes with Garlic Aioli

Summertime is the best time in the garden. Oregon Giant peas drip off the vines, collapsing under the weight of the fruiting bodies. Strawberries and raspberries blush reds hidden amongst all the deep green hues. And the artichokes! Two to three heads are forming on each perennial, and my diet consists of steamed artichokes at least once a week. This aioli I made out of desperation to find something easy to make in barren kitchen–and Bobby claimed it to be “the best aioli he ever had.” Thank you, Bobby. 🙂

Steamed Artichokes with Garlic Aioli

What You’ll Need:

  • 1 Artichoke per person
  • Mayonnaise
  • Organic Lemon (Inzana Ranch)
  • Garlic (Farmers’ Market)
  • Salt and Black Pepper

Check out these beautiful organic, homegrown artichokes! The BEST I’ve ever eaten!

Artichoke: You will need a steamer to steam these bad boys up. Honestly, I have no clue what I’m doing when I steam my artichokes. I put them in a pot with a steamer, and fill it with water until it’s visible in the steamer’s bottom holes. I put my artichokes on the rack, cover the pot with a lid, and set to high on the stove for ~30 minutes. I check numerous times to see if the bottom peels off easily and if the flesh is edible–sometimes this means adding more water or thinking it’s ready when it’s not. Read this for more detailed steaming information. In the beginning stages of your steaming process, begin to make your aioli, so it’ll be cold at the end.

Aioli: Add as much mayonnaise as you think your people will need. I love dip (especially aioli) so I took out three large heaps with a table spoon–the kind that mingles with forks and knives. Then I used the heel of my hand and rolled the lemon to juice it up up. Cut in half and squeeze until the consistency of your aioli is creamy; I used half a lemon. Mince 1 garlic clove, add to the mix, grind in black pepper and salt and mix together. Chill in refridgerator until artichokes are ready. Viola!

Enjoy Your Harvests,
Brittany

About Brittany

I am an Environmental Studies graduate from the University of San Francisco. That's where the inspirational fire sparked--through the Garden Project, Back to da Roots, and How-to-Homestead. From there my knowledge of the food system, the environment, and San Francisco has grown immensely, and I have found myself healthier and happier than ever! I continue to blend the world of urban, natural, and technological. Urban homesteader, gardener, experimental home chef, environmentalist, foodie, and explorer. I look for the good stuff in San Francisco and can guide you along your own personal exploration, as well!
This entry was posted in Food, Food & Recipes, Homemade, Local, Seasonal: Fall, Seasonal: Spring, Seasonal: Summer, Stove Top and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

